On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

Fresh Ginger Cake

Leave a comment

I am really enjoying reading different food blogs.  There’s a lot out there and every single one of them offers up some great recipes and beautiful photography.

Each time I read another blog I come across recipes that I’m keen to try out. When I saw this recipe for Fresh Ginger Cake I knew it would be one of the first I would make. Mark is a real fan of all things Ginger in baking.

I adapted the recipe just a bit. I don’t trust my instincts enough to go wild and make radical changes. One of the main ingredients if Molassas. Now you can actually buy this in the supermarkets, I’ve seen it at Countdown Moorhouse Ave, but I don’t have it in my pantry. What I do have is Treacle and Golden Syrup. So I swapped out the Molassas for some of each of those. I also used Raw sugar (which has Molassas in it) instead of white sugar.

See, not too radical Smile

FGC6

 

The tea towel I’ve used here is one given to me by my eldest niece (she just turned 18 – I’m so old now!). Each person in her year had to submit a freehand drawing of themselves. You don’t get t see the picture of my niece, but I can tell you she’s quite the budding artist. And I’m not saying that as a proud Aunt, though I am proud of what she’s accomplished.

Onto the recipe then? Ok.

 

Recipe: Fresh Ginger Cake inspired from Vintage Kitchen Notes

FRESH GINGER CAKE

from  Room for Dessert  by David Levobitz

.

110 g fresh ginger

1/4 cup treacle

3/4 cup golden syrup

1  cup raw sugar (** white sugar was in the original recipe **)

1  cup vegetable oil, preferably peanut (** I used Rice Bran Oil – I wont a second time **)

2 ½  cups flour (** I used Organic Unbleached because I had an open packet **)

1  teaspoon ground cinnamon

½  teaspoon ground cloves

½  teaspoon ground black pepper (** yes really! **)

1  cup water

2  teaspoons baking soda

2  eggs at room temperature

  • Heat oven to 180.
  • Line a 9 by 3-inch round cake tin or spring form pan with baking paper and spray the sides of the tin.
  • Peel, slice and chop the ginger very fine with a knife or grater (** I used a zester, took ages though **).
  • Mix together the treacle, golden syrup, sugar and oil.
  • In another bowl, sift together flour, cinnamon, cloves and black pepper.
  • Bring the water to the boil in a saucepan, stir in the baking soda.
  • Mix the hot water into the treacle/golden syrup mixture.
  • Stir in the ginger.
  • Gradually whisk the dry ingredients into the batter.
  • Add the eggs, and continue mixing until everything is thoroughly combined.
  • Pour the batter into the prepared cake tin and bake for about 1 hour, until the top of the cake springs back lightly when pressed or a tester inserted into the centre comes out clean.
  • If the top of the cake is browning too quickly, cover with a piece of tin foil and continue baking.
  • Cool the cake for at least 30 minutes before turning out.
  • Run a knife around the edge of the cake tin to loosen it from the pan.
  • Remove cake and peel off the baking paper.

 

FGC5FGC3FGC4FGC2

 

This is not a dense Ginger Cake. It’s not heavy, it’s quite soft but not delicate. The flavours are great.

When Mark licked the spatula he commented on the cinnamon he could taste, he doesn’t like cinnamon. He’s so hard to please when it come to food, it’s almost exhausting.

Anyway, I had to agree, I could definitely taste the cinnamon in the batter, but when the cake is cooked it’s the ginger that outshines all the other ingredients, even the fresh black pepper which I’ve never used before as an ingredient in a cake.

I’ll be making this again.  Though I’ll be using a different oil. This is the second cake I’ve used Rice Bran Oil with. It’s clear to me that the oil leaves an almost unpleasant taste in the cake. The oil says it’s suitable for baking but I’d steer clear of it. There’s plenty of other oils that have a more mild (less obvious) flavour which would suit this cake better.

One of the things I really like about the cake is that it doesn’t need icing. Like all baked good with icing sugar dusted over, the icing sugar will be absorbed into the cake.

FGC1

Leave a Reply

