On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

Lemon Blueberry Crumb Cake

Leave a comment

This is another recipe from Vintage Kitchen Notes.

Before I get into the making of this cake, I want to state right up front that you must make this, in fact I implore you to make this cake.

What are you doing? Why haven’t you gone to the kitchen yet?

Okay, you want to know why I think it’s a cake that must be made.

It’s not often that I take a first bite of something and am immediately delighted with the flavour. But this cake got everything right. The texture the flavour the smell. It ticked all the boxes for me. It’s not a sickly sweet cake, and it looks a bit, ah, rustic, but it’s got such a sweet delicate flavour of lemon and cinnamon and blueberry. It’s just the right amount of everything. And I just love that crumble topping adding a little bit of crunch. This cake is a 10/10. Of course that’s just my opinion.

lbcc6

 

On Paula’s blog, yes I feel like I can call her by her first name, (this is the third of her recipes I’ve made. It seems like we’re on the same wavelength when it comes to the type of baking that we enjoy to make and eat) is a much more presentable photo of this cake. I don’t have an 8” round cake pan. And I certainly think a round cake looks more attractive. But I don’t care because I know how delightful this cake tastes and I could just eat it until it’s all gone. Of course that would make me sad, because then there’d be no more.

It’s so easy to make. There’s nothing complicated, except if you struggle with the word “scatter”. You have to scatter the Blueberries. Honestly that sort of thing makes me so uncomfortable. I want order, not higgledy piggledy. I want evenness, not casualness. It doesn’t quite make me ill to be so slap happy about the placement of things, but I do have some anxiety when I look down at the cake and know that it’s all a bit whimsical and not tidy and everything in nice neat rows, evenly spaced, perfect.

Enough. It’s making me feel like I’m fighting an inner war. I want to be carefree, but it’s so difficult to let go.

Back to the cake. Here’s a few photos of how it all came together.

SNAGHTML9cc6e11

And then the hardest part. Scattering all those lovely frozen (or fresh) Blueberries

image

An important note about baking this, is in my oven, the cake cooked from the edges first. Even though I had specifically placed some of these Blueberries so they were tucked around the sides, during cooking they sort of piled into the middle of the cake.

I did put a few more than 3/4 of a cup of them in, and it might have been too much fruit. Or it could just be the way that my oven cooks.

Though I’ve never seen a cake bake that way before so I think it was the berries on top sinking into the batter the way they did. Anyway, don’t panic if that happens. It will still turn out beautifully.

I’ve just realised I don’t have a photo of what the cake looks like cut. The only way to remedy that was to have a(nother) slice. I’ve just had a piece with lunch. Oh the sacrifices I make.

imageimage

So here it is, because I know you’re itching to get stuck in and make this ASAP:

Lemon Blueberry Crumb Cake by Vintage Kitchen Notes (Instructions rewritten)

Ingredients

2 cups all purpose flour

1 cup sugar

½ cup packed golden brown sugar

Grated zest of 2 lemons

½ teaspoon ground cinnamon

½ cup vegetable oil

2 Tbs fresh lemon juice

1 cup sour cream

1 large egg (I used size 7)

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 teaspoon baking powder

1 teaspoon baking soda

¾ cup blueberries, fresh or frozen (mine were frozen)

Icing sugar, for dusting

 

Instructions

  • Heat oven to 170ºC.
  • Lightly butter or spray a non-stick 8 inch round or square pan. (I line the bottom of the tin with baking paper – always, even if it’s a non-stick pan).
  • In a bowl stir flour, sugars, zest and cinnamon.
  • Make a hole in the middle, add oil and lemon juice and mix with a fork until flour is evenly moistened and mixture forms clumps.
  • Set aside 1 cup of this mixture – this is used as the crumb
  • To the remaining mixture add egg, sour cream, vanilla, baking powder and baking soda.
  • Mix well with an electric mixer until batter is smooth.
  • Pour the batter into the prepared pan and sprinkle with reserved cup of crumb mixture.
  • Scatter (try!) blueberries on top.
  • Bake for about 40 to 45 minutes, or until dry, golden and a tester inserted comes out clean. (my cake took closer to 55 minutes, though I have the temperature a little lower because my oven is on the too hot side – my cake is still very moist, and delicious, did I mention that already?).
  • Let the cake rest in the tin for around 10 minutes.
  • Turn the cake onto a cooling rack.
  • Dust with icing sugar and serve.

 

My notes and recommendations:

Always have eggs (and butter when using) at room temperature

When using fresh juice, strain it first

Dust the icing sugar just before you serve, otherwise you’ll find the icing sugar is absorbed by the cake

For a cake like this that clearly has a right side up and wont be iced, use two cooling racks. Turn the cake out onto one (now the top is on the rack), place the second rack on the bottom of the cake and then turn the cake so that it’s back up the right way. Follow?

Leave a Reply

