On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

Mr Fussy’s Vanilla Cookies

Leave a comment

What a treat. Mr Fussy baked cookies.

Actually during the week we had an interesting, albeit brief, discussion about the type of baking we both preferred. Mr Fussy likes cookies. I’d say my favourite is a slice, with caramel of course!

3Ways

I recall a time after we’d been together that Mr Fussy asked his Mum for a couple of her recipes. This, and a Tan Square is what he wanted. Mr Fussy dutifully took the recipe down over the phone.

Because I had a bit of a big day in the kitchen the cookies were made and baked after lunch. There was a false start but apparently it was my fault for putting him off by snapping photos of him. Oooh the pressure Winking smile It was all said in jest. The upshot is we’re out of butter, so my plans to make my own version of a cookie slice will have to wait.

SingleCookie

The handwritten note, with imperial measurements, and converted to metric, doesn’t give any clue as to where the recipe originated from. Though I suspect it’s one of those tried and true recipes of an era long gone.

GettingSorted

Vanilla Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 250 gm butter
  • 250 gm white sugar
  • 2 tablespoons milk
  • 2 dessert spoons of golden syrup
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla essence or extract
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 450 gm all purpose flour
  • Dried fruit to your liking

Instructions:

  • Heat the oven to 180deg Celsius
  • Put butter, sugar, milk and golden syrup into a large pot and melt together
  • Let the liquid cool to room temperature
  • Add in the vanilla essence, flour, baking soda and sultanas and stir to combine
  • Put teaspoon amounts onto a baking sheet *we had a variety of sizes (and shapes)
  • Lightly press to flatten if need be
  • Bake for 10 minutes
  • Transfer to a wire rack to cool
  • Store in an air tight container

CookieDough

Mr Fussy got to use my cookie scoop, even I’ve not used it yet. The recipe said to place teaspoon lots of dough on a baking tray. The cookie scoop held considerably more. Then Mr Fussy decided to measure out tablespoons, using the measuring spoons. I pleaded him not to bend them as he scraped the spoon up the side of the pan to ensure it was full and no more.

And then you flatten the cookies a little. Someone’s big paws show two very large indentations. And you can see that after cooking the indentations are still there. These cookies do not spread.

BeforeAfter (2)

I’m convinced the pint glass milk jug looks pretty cool in the photo, but Mr Fussy was keen for me to include his own “Man size” mug. It takes 500ml, of tea, of course.

FussyMug

And as you do, we’ve been sampling a few of these, you know, one of each size, just for quality control. Mr Fussy asked his Mum what her verdict was. She thought there needed to be more vanilla. Mr Fussy used the Vanilla essence I’d spent a month shaking to make. I made it from scratch, but it appears it’s not quite hitting the mark. Still, who’s to say the store bought stuff would have done a better job.

All up Mr Fussy was a fairly obliging “model” for the photos. There are some crackers that I can’t include. And we’re still counting how many chins the photos make it appear he has. The photo of Mr Fussy holding the one cookie made him feel like he was holding a delicate birds egg. But he did ok, though “a little to the left”, “your hand has dropped” is pretty hard to gauge from the other side of the camera. It took more goes than you’d think and sensing his impatience I decided I’d made do with the best shot I had.

And for those observant, yes he loves that Contiki shirt. It’s amazing the quality of clothing some 17+ years ago.

And one last note, the little glass stand in the photos came from a school fair we dropped in on yesterday. It cost $0.50 but since they were fumbling about looking for change I said I was more than happy to pay the $1.00 I’d given. Mr Fussy was making a point about value for money. The $20 I paid for the glass pint bottle acquired last weekend and the glass stand. You win some, you lose some.

Leave a Reply

