On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

Lemon Curd, who can resist?

Leave a comment

In my Scottish Shortbread post I mentioned that I was making a Lemon Truffle recipe. That recipe uses shortbread crumbs. So luckily I had some “less than perfect” shortbread that would fit the bill.

The recipe also calls for Lemon Curd, but the blog post didn’t actually give a recipe to use.

Naturally I used Google and Pinterest to search out a recipe. The last time I made a curd was in the microwave, and that was many moons ago. The French Lemon Cream Tart I made is probably also a curd, despite it being called a Cream. It was a bit fussy to make and since it was 29 deg Celsius outside I wanted something quick rather than slaving over a hot oven any longer than necessary.

IMG_6471

As is typical of me, I ended up finding a recipe on David Lebovitz’s website. Though I adjusted the quantities a little.

My freezer has so much lemon juice sitting in little Glad zip lock bags that I didn’t want to add anymore to it. So instead of 125ml of fresh lemon juice, the recipe has 150ml.

Lemon Curd – slightly adapted from David Lebovitz’s Improved Lemon Curd

Ingredients

  • 150ml Fresh Lemon Juice
  • 130gm White Sugar
  • 90gm Butter – cubed
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 2 Egg Yolks

Instructions

  • In a pot add together the lemon juice, sugar, whole eggs and egg yolks, whisk to combine
  • Add the butter cubes and set the pan over low heat, whisking constantly until the butter is melted.
  • Increase the heat and cook over moderate heat, whisking constantly, until the mixture thickens and just begins to become jelly-like. It’s done when you lift the whisk and the mixture holds its shape when it falls back into the saucepan from the whisk.
  • Immediately press the curd through a fine mesh strainer. Once strained, store the lemon curd in the refrigerator. It will keep for up to one week.

LC1

Even though you are whisking the curd while it thickens, there’s still (or at least in my experience) very little bits of egg white. Pushing the curd through the strainer will help to separate the cooked whites from the curd. And you need to do this before the curd cools as it will continue to thicken making it a little harder to push it through the strainer.

LC2

Mmm, this tastes so good.

While the recipe says you’ll get a cup, I got 1.5 cups. Not sure why. I kept whisking for quite a while. I never got the curd to the point where it dropped from the whisk and sat on top without blending in. But as you can see, as it’s cooling it’s doing just that. And it’s definitely the right consistency for spreading on toast.

I briefly stopped whisking and the curd started to boil. So don’t be alarmed. Just keep whisking to ensure it doesn’t catch on the bottom of the pan. Whisking for 6-8 minutes is likely to be the right amount of time, but again it will depend on how hot ‘moderate’ is for you.

It’s almost a shame to use this curd in the truffles. I really want to spoon it into my mouth.

On such a hot day this curd is very refreshing. I guess I could always make some more Winking smile

Leave a Reply

