On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

Ice Cream, Lemon Curd and a Chocolate Sauce

Leave a comment

This morning started with putting our house back to pre-Christmas. We’d moved our wrought iron liquor stand out to the garage and had to take all the bottles of alcohol off. That thing is heavy without several dozen bottles of booze.

While we were moving things out and bringing things back Maranello was whinging to go outside. Finally I organised him to go outside (our cats are indoor cats but have harnesses and leads so they can go outside, somewhat restricted, when we’re home – I wont be surprised if you think we’re bonkers).

At the same time the washing machine was just revving up for the spin cycle and with several bottles of alcohol on top they began clinking together. Maranello, who could saunter out the back door, instead headed to the bedroom and hid in the wardrobe. I was at a loss for words. He’d been harping (meowing) on about going outside and now he was hiding.

It took me some time to figure out what had happened. During the Christchurch earthquakes we’d had bottles of alcohol sitting on the beer fridge in the laundry and I imagine the sound of the bottles clinking on the washing machine (it’s a front loader) reminded him of the terror of the earthquakes. I’ve heard of so many pets been left traumatised by the earthquakes. Once I shifted the bottles Maranello was quick to head out the door and have a taste of the outdoors. And life resumed.

ChocSauce

The chocolate sauce I made late this afternoon had a splash of alcohol in it. A choice of Whiskey (we don’t have any), Cognac or Rum. I chose Rum (recently purchased for the Rum & Raisin Ice Cream I made).

The sauce was really easy to make. I used a recipe from David Lebovitz’s book Ready for Dessert, a recipe I’d taken a copy of when I’d borrowed the book from the library.

Rich Chocolate Sauce by David Lebovitz

Ingredients

  • 340gm dark chocolate (with at least 45% cocoa solids), chopped
  • 180ml water
  • 180ml double cream (I used standard cream which has 35% fat)
  • 2 teaspoons whiskey, rum or cognac

* Variation – for a slightly richer sauce, stir in 2 tablespoons unsalted or salted butter, at room temperature, along with the whiskey, rum or cognac

Instructions

  • In a medium saucepan, combine the chocolate, water, and cream.
  • Warm over low heat, stirring gently until the chocolate is melted and the sauce is smooth.
  • Remove from the heat.
  • Stir in the whiskey, rum or cognac
  • Serve the sauce warm

IceCreamSauces

The other day I made Scottish Shortbread. I froze some of it, and used some crumbed up in Lemon Truffles and then added some of the crumbled up shortbread in the Ice Cream along with the Lemon Curd I’d made.

I’m getting to be so good with freezing things and then reusing them in new ways.

The Ice Cream I made was based on the same recipe I used for the Strawberry Ice Cream, a recipe adapted from David Lebovitz.

I really enjoy making Ice Cream. I love watching it being churned. I know some people are mesmerised by watching flames in a fire, but I have a similar draw to watching churning ice cream. And I haven’t heard of that leading to any other devious behaviour.

LCIceCream-2

I didn’t measure the amount of crumbled shortbread or how much Lemon Curd I added. I just did what felt right.

Mr Fussy has admitted that the Ice Cream, despite adding a biscuit, is just fine.

Isn’t Ice Cream great, you can just add any sweet left over to create something a little bit special and unique to what you’d find in the supermaket.

LCIC2

As for the chocolate sauce with the ice cream, it was nice but nothing I’d call out of this world, but it’s really straight forward to make and for that it’s a winner. Only Mr Fussy got a hint of the rum, I wasn’t aware of it at all, other than smelling it in the kitchen while I was making the sauce.

Unfortunately the Whittaker’s chocolate wouldn’t completely blend. I don’t know why. It hadn’t burnt, and when I touched the little globs they were soft and flattened without any pressure, but why they wouldn’t completely blend into the sauce I’m unsure.

David suggests the sauce being served with a Chocolate Cake.

I had made a Devil’s Food Cake (guess whose recipe?!), covered it with a White Chocolate Cream Cheese frosting and added crushed up candy canes around the bottom and served that during afternoon tea yesterday. Lots of my extended family aren’t into heavy fruit cake and I didn’t want them missing out. Yes I’m a star and all round good guy.

When I mentioned to Mr Fussy that the sauce was recommended to have with chocolate cake he asked after the cake I’d made yesterday. Unfortunately for him what hadn’t been eaten was divided up between my two sisters. Imagine pouring warm chocolate sauce over a cake smothered with white chocolate cream cheese frosting. If that doesn’t make your teeth hurt I don’t know what would. However he’s turned down my offer to make another chocolate cake.

LCIC3

I’ve got lots of cream left over from what we expected to use at Christmas, I wonder if I should make another ice cream. Mr Fussy is keen to use it to make cocktails on New Years Eve. Who will win?

Leave a Reply

