On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

Turkey Stock. Waste not want not.

Leave a comment

I wasn’t looking to make a stock, but I stumbled across a post just days before Christmas and it was dead easy. I had nothing to lose, but plenty to gain.

My stock didn’t quite finish off the same as the post I was using, but I’m ok with that.

Simmer

Turkey Stock by Small Wallet Big Appetite

Ingredients

  • 1 turkey carcass
  • 4 Lt. (16 c.) cold water
  • 2 large carrots, chopped
  • 2 onions, quartered (do NOT peel)
  • 1 Tbsp crushed peppercorn
  • 2 tsp dried thyme
  • 2 tsp dried parsley
  • 2 tsp garlic powder

Instructions

  • Strip the turkey carcass of all its meat. The turkey will need to be broken down so it can fit into your large pot so don’t be delicate. Breaking into the carcass will also help you find places where meat has been hiding all this time, again more food that previously had been wasted.
  • Once you have most of the turkey meat stripped off the bones go ahead and finish break up the bones and put them into a large pot; also put in the pot any turkey skin and all the other assorted “bits” that aren’t edible meat. I go ahead and throw in the turkey neck, heart and other bits seeing as how I don’t use this normally.
  • When you have the pot full of bones, pour the cold water over and turn heat to high; bring to a boil.
  • Chop up the carrots and onions; make sure to leave the onion skin ON as it gives your stock a lovely rich colour.
  • When the stock comes to a boil, add all remaining ingredients and turn heat down to a lightly bubbling simmer.
  • Simmer for 3 to 4 hours, stirring every once in a while. Until the broth has boiled down to half of its liquid, about 2 Lt. (8 c.)
  • Once the stock is ready, strain it through a fine-meshed sieve into a large bowl; if your sieve is not fine, line it first with cheesecloth; discard the bones and veggies you used to make the stock.
  • Refrigerate stock, covered, for several hours or preferably overnight; until the stock has congealed. Skim off the solidified fat before you either make soup or freeze the stock.
  • Because the stock is congealed I find it is easy to just cut the stock into cubes to put in a bad and divide into 2 bags to freeze. Or you can go ahead and make soup right away
  • My Notes: I assume by “other bits” we’re talking the liver and kidneys. I’d certainly not eat them. But they all went into the pot. As sometimes happens, I misread the instructions and sat their grinding a tablespoon of pepper from peppercorns. I have no idea how that might change the flavour.
  • The first photo below was taken straight after I’d poured the stock through the strainer, having first removed all the big bones. I left the stock on the bench until it had cooled enough to put in to the fridge. The second photo was taken this morning. I was expecting the stock to look an opaque white like the recipe showed, but I ended up with a congealed jelly type stock. But the Continental stocks come like that so I guess it’s still ok.

BeforeAfter-2

I was expecting the stock to have a layer of scummy stuff. It didn’t. I must have done a mighty find job of stripping off all that extra turkey. Unfortunately the carcass had been left out most of Christmas Day so I couldn’t make use of it.

Stock

I forgot to taste the stock after I had poured it into the bowl. It’ll be a pleasant surprise (I hope) when I use it tomorrow to make a risotto using the little left over turkey we have.

I’ll have to heat the stock to see if it might “liquefy” or I’ll have to add water which unfortunately will water down the flavour.

I’ll let you know one way or the other. I’ll be making the same risotto recipe I’ve used in the past, an Annabel Langbein recipe from her book Simple Pleasures.

I got 6 cups of jelly stock. But I had a really massive stock pot to use.

I came across this post from another blogger whose been to Culinary School and learnt some hard lessons about making stock. There’s some handy tips in this post about how you can save up scraps to add to a chicken or turkey carcass when you’re ready to make stock.

Leave a Reply

