On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

A few bubbles for a Happy New Year

Leave a comment

There’s nothing like contemplating the New Years Eve celebrations to make one feel old. For the last several years NYE hasn’t really been a “big thing” for us. Usually we’ve made our way to bed and fast asleep before midnight. Oh to be young, drunk and finding Policemen (or Policewomen) to kiss. Okay my brother-in-law probably hates NYE and the women who drunkenly want to have a smooch.

IMG_6817

One of my best memories of New Years Eve celebrations (other than a dress up we went to where I was Shirley Temple – I don’t look good as a blonde) was the year we had cocktails. And I’ve been talking about those recently since we have an abundance of cream left over from Christmas day. What better way to use that up (other than ice-cream).

Yesterday I picked a bunch of rhubarb. So much so that I had to find several uses for it. I’d recently seen some cocktails, Sangria and Mojito recipes. Now they all sound nice, but they’re not simple drinks and I’m just not fussed with mixing too many things together. Call me lazy.

However the Rhubarb Syrup, well it started out as Rhubarb Tea, did appeal to me. Not that I’m a drinker. But I like my wine sparkling, and sweet. So I decided this “syrup” would be perfect when matched with one of our favourite sweet sparkling wines.

Making-2

The recipe is slightly adapted from one by Martha Stewart. It’s very basic, just stalks of rhubarb, water and a little bit of sugar. And believe me, the sugar doesn’t add any detectable sweetness at all. But adding the sweet sparkling wine ought to do the trick. And if not, I’ll just have to keep making up another drink with a little added sugar until it’s perfect. This could get very messy.

Once the syrup has boiled, then reduced to a simmer for an hour, it’s ready to strain. Then it’s ready to use, though you’ll want to cool it first. Of course you can drink it as is, as a tea. It smells wonderful.

Syrup

Rhubarb Syrup – adapted by Martha Stewart

  • Ingredients
  • 4 stalks rhubarb, cut into 3-inch lengths
  • 4 cups water
  • 1/3 cup sugar, or to taste
  • peel from one medium lemon (optional)
  • Instructions
  • In a large saucepan, combine rhubarb and 4 cups water
  • Bring to a boil, and simmer for 1 hour.
  • Strain the liquid, add sugar to taste, stirring to dissolve, and allow to cool

 

I’m not wasting the rhubarb pulp. I’ve added sugar to taste and will be having this with cereal or ice cream.

 

Syrup1

 

Happy New Year!  May the year ahead be good to you.

Leave a Reply

