On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

Simple Ingredients burst into life with Blueberries

Leave a comment

Continuing on with my new-found love of Blueberries, on our way to Hanmer Springs we passed a place selling Blueberries. I made a mental note to stop there on our way back.

On our way back we just made it in time (with 2 minutes to spare) to grab the last of the fresh produce at the Amberley Farmer’s Market. One of the stalls was for organic Blueberries. We nabbed a couple of 250gm bags and I got to thinking about how I’d use them. I could make the Blueberry Lemon Scrolls (again). But I thought it might be time to give those a rest, though I still love them. So then what?

I looked on Pintrest and Foodgawker and found several recipes for muffins and scones. There were a lot of different uses for the Blueberries but I kept coming back to the scones and muffins. But I couldn’t decide on which recipe. You can see my dilemma right?

In the end I chose muffins because they’re quick to whip up, simple in style and powerful in taste.

BlueberryMuffin

Don’t laugh, but I’m of the mind to keep things a little less fattening. It’s not a New Years resolution as such. But it’s probably fairly common that the beginning of a new year will see some changes in habits.

I’m trying to see how I can balance the things I like to do and keep my waistline from expanding at a rapid rate. Well expand at all.

With that in mind I decided to swap out some white flour for some Wholemeal flour. It’s not a big change. Hopefully there’s a reduction in fat or calories. I really don’t know, but it makes me feel like I’ve done something positive.

Muffins

I’m going to try and keep the amount of sugar in check. Which I know is going to take more willpower than I have most days. But I’m going to try. So instead of succumbing to chocolate, I’ve whipped up these slightly healthier muffins full of Blueberries to give me just enough sweetness to get me through. That’s the plan anyway.

Making

Blueberry Muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 /2 cup canola oil
    1/2 cup white sugar plus 2 tablespoons divided
  • 1/2 cup raw sugar
    1 cup buttermilk
    2 large eggs
    1 teaspoon vanilla extract
    1 cup white flour
  • 1 cup wholemeal flour
    2 teaspoons baking powder
    1/4 teaspoon baking soda
    1/4 teaspoon salt
  • zest of 1 small lemon
    Approximately 1 cup blueberries

Instructions

  • Heat the oven to 190deg Celsius
  • Add all the wet ingredients to a medium bowl and whisk to incorporate
  • Sift all the dry ingredients into a large bowl
  • Pour the liquid into the dry ingredients
  • Using a spatula or spoonula fold the wet ingredients into the dry until just incorporated
  • Add the blueberries and gently fold these into the mixture * the mixture may still appear lumpy which is fine, you don’t want to over-mix or the muffins will be hard
  • Add the 2 tablespoons of sugar and lemon zest to a small bowl and mix together with your fingers
  • Line a muffin tin with paper liners
  • Fill the liners to 3/4 fill * depending on the type of liners you use as to how full you can fill them
  • Sprinkle the lemon sugar over the top of the muffins
  • Bake for 15-18 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean (Rotate the pan half way through baking).

Inspired by Dulce Dough and Completely Delicious.

JammyGoodness

Look all that jammy goodness. And it’s all natural flavours. So the last thing was to determine if the texture had been too compromised by adding in Wholemeal flour. Which was interesting to sift. You are left with all that wheat, which I just dumped in on top of the sifted flours.

Texture

The good news is that the texture was still light. Thank you buttermilk.

Of course Mr Fussy made use of the butter, but I found these muffins didn’t need anything else. There was an extra bit of sweetness thanks to the sugar and lemon combo sprinkled on top. Ok, I’m trying to cut back but a little bit of sugar over the top is ok, I’m sure, especially if I forgo the butter.

WithButter

I’ve packed these up into zip lock bags and put them into the freezer. So I can now just whip one out when I leave for work and it will be defrosted by the time the first hunger pangs kick in.

Leave a Reply

