On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

Buttermilk Scones

Leave a comment

IMG_7137

Not long ago I tried my hand at making scones with none other than soda water and cream in place of butter. It was revolutionary to me. And it was damn good. I’ve made them several times since.

I had yet another carton of buttermilk begging to be finished off. I’d found the recipe for Buttermilk Scones when I was looking for none other than a Blueberry Muffin recipe. As is common for me, as I go looking I end up weaving my way from one blog to the next and I’d come across Blueberry Buttermilk Scones.

By now I’d used all my blueberries in this and this. And I wasn’t sure if I had enough buttermilk to actually make the scones.

As a last minute thing, with Sunday lunch looming I decided to measure out the buttermilk. I had exactly 1 1/4 cups. I needed 1 1/4 cups. Clearly this was a sign I should proceed and try my hand with buttermilk scones.

So here goes.

Stages

Blueberry Biscuits by One Lovely Life, barely adapted.

Buttermilk Scones

Ingredients

  • 3c flour
  • 2 Tbsp sugar
  • 5 tsp baking powder
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 6 Tbsp butter
  • 1¼ cup buttermilk
  • 1 egg
  • 1½ cups mixed berries (don’t thaw if using frozen)
  • Instructions
    • Combine flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a large bowl.
    • Add the butter and combine with a pastry blender or two forks or in a food processor until very crumbly. The pieces should be no larger than peas.
    • *If desired, you can prepare the dough up to this point and refrigerate up to 1 day until ready to continue.
    • Combine egg and buttermilk and pour into dry mixture.
    • Add blueberries or other fruit, and gently stir with a fork until just combined.
    • Flour the bench and turn dough onto the bench.
    • Pat out to a square, about ¾″ in thickness.
    • Being careful not to slice all the way through, slice into 16 squares, keeping the dough in one large piece.
    • Carefully transfer scored biscuits to a baking sheet lined with parchment paper (this is easier with a spatula or a bench scraper).
    • Bake at 200  degrees for about 15 minutes, or until tops are just golden.
    • My Notes:
    • I used frozen mixed berries. I find frozen berries a little less sweet and flavoursome.
    • I sprinkled the top of the dough with castor sugar to give it a little additional sweetness.
    • I put my dough directly onto the Silpat and patted the dough out into a square. Even if I didn’t have a Silpat I’d have been inclined to do the same directly onto baking paper. That means it’s easier to transfer to a baking tray.
    • I can’t recommend enough a dough scraper. That’s what I used to “score” the squares. It’s a little safer than using a knife, especially when “cutting” directly onto the Silpat mat.

 

You can see the butter still sitting in the dough. Using frozen fruit meant that as it started to defrost during shaping, it was leaking juice into the dough. You could actually feel it squishing in the dough. Given the colour went quite grey I was pleased the tops baked nicely and lost the grey colour.

Scones

If I were to make these again (and they are a good way to use up left over buttermilk) I wont used mixed berries. The Sujon brand, which is my preference, has whole strawberries, blackberries and raspberries. The fruit really is a bit on the large size for scones.

Don’t be put off making these if you don’t have buttermilk on hand. You can make buttermilk by adding 1 tablespoon of white wine vinegar to 1 cup of milk. Stir it and then leave it to sit for 5 or so minutes. By that stage you should see some clumping and you’ve got yourself buttermilk. Easy as.

I wasn’t sure if Mr Fussy would be that fussed with these. He’s pretty particular about his scones. They must have passed whatever scale he uses since he’s wrapped up some left over scones to take for lunch.

Leave a Reply

