On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

ANZAC biscuits

Leave a comment

Biscuits, yes you read right. If you’re from New Zealand and Australia, you know these as biscuits, not cookies as biscuits are called in America and Canada (and I don’t know where else). Of course biscuits are biscuits in the UK as well (and I don’t know where else). And scones, well they’re biscuits I think in America and Canada. Confused?

NZ Flag

ANZAC Day is the 25th April (yes I typed that out like a NZer Smile with tongue out). ANZAC Day is a day we observe and remember the Australian and New Zealand Army Corps.

I’ve never been to a Dawn Parade, I’ve always enjoyed having the choice to lay in and not get ready for work.

In New Zealand Waitangi Day and ANZAC Day are not days off if they fall on the weekend, but this past week the Bill was passed through law and both days have now been Monday-ised.

While I’m coming clean on all sorts of things, I’ve not made ANZAC Biscuits for, well forever. Though I do like rolled oats and golden syrup and all the other goodies that you’ll find in ANZAC Biscuits.

This recipe is not from the Edmonds Cookbook, though there is one. It has the same ingredients but the proportions are slightly different, as is the cooking temperature and duration.

 

Large and small biscuits

This recipe is from an Australian Blog, you’ll find it on Megann’s Kitchen. Megann has a few extra photos of the actual making of the biscuits, but they’re easy to make. You don’t need a mixer. You just need a big bowl for all the dry ingredients (minus the baking soda) and a small pot to melt the butter and golden syrup. See, anyone could whip up a batch of these. In fact I’ve whipped up two batches. Friday I made the large biscuits and had enough mixture to make a few little biscuits. Today I made all little biscuits, I’ve got 29 of them. Just enough for all the staff on my floor at work (minus myself).

Ingredients

ANZAC Biscuits

Ingredients

1¼ cups plain flour, sifted

1 cup rolled oats

¼ cup brown sugar

¼ cup white sugar

¾ cup desiccated coconut

2 tablespoons golden syrup or treacle

150g unsalted butter, chopped

½ tsp bicarbonate of soda

1 Tbs hot water

Instructions

Heat the oven to 160 degrees Celsius.

In a large bowl mix together the flour, rolled oats, both white and brown sugar and coconut.

On a low heat melt the butter and golden syrup.

In a small bowl mix the hot water and baking soda, then add this mixture to the butter/golden syrup. Watch for the bubbles, it will all froth up a bit.

Add the wet ingredients to the dry ingredients.

Mix to combine, it wont take long. The mixture will be a little crumbly but holds together when you make a ball.

Or, use a cookie scoop to measure the biscuit mixture onto a baking tray lined with baking paper or a Silpat.

The biscuits wont spread much at all, and you’ll leave them in a mound.

Cook the biscuits for 7 minutes.

Remove the biscuits from the oven and using a flat bottom glass press the glass onto the biscuit to flatten them to around 1.5 cm thick.

Rotate the tray and return the biscuits to the oven and continue to cook a further 6 or 7 minutes.

When the biscuits are nice and crisp on the outside, and possibly still a little soft in the middle they are baked.

Leave the biscuits on the tray for further 5-7 minutes then transfer them to a cooling rack.

My Notes:

The large biscuits were scooped from my 3Tbls cookie scoop and made biscuits around 9cm in size.

I slightly flattened the biscuits and had to press them together a little because the scoop dislodges the rounded top as you release the mixture.

I used whole grain rolled oats.

I didn’t think Baking Soda had a shelf life but I didn’t get quite the froth and energetic bubbles when I mixed the BS and water with the butter and golden syrup as I expected. I’ll be putting that on the shopping list.

Baking ANZAC biscuits

I didn’t think Mr Fussy would be keen on these for his work lunches given there’s rolled oats in there, but he seems quite happy to take them. Perhaps he’s just thankful for a change from cupcakes since I said I didn’t have time to make any of them. These are a refreshing change to all that buttercream frosting.

Plate of ANZAC biscuits

Mr Fussy gets the “giant” biscuits. I might suggest he warms them up a little, I know that sounds odd, but the one I had this morning (for the purpose of the above photo showing a bite out of a biscuit) felt like it had softened a little, despite being in a Tupperware container and baked only 2 days ago. They are slightly chewy.

Still is there anything nicer than a warmed biscuit? I love them that way, it’s like they’ve just been freshly baked. They smell great too.

So to our Australian cousins across the ditch, we make a great team, even though when it comes to sport we’re fiercely supportive of our respective countries. May all our battles continue to be only on the playing fields.

Leave a Reply

