On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

Creamy Pumpkin Soup

Leave a comment

Wandering through the supermarket one weekend I spied whole pumpkins, really cheap. I decided it would be perfect for a pumpkin soup. I knew Mr Fussy wouldn’t be having any. He’s not keen on pumpkin, but he will eat it, because I will serve it, when we have a roast.

But pumpkin on it’s own without the promise of roast Lamb (his favourite) would not be tolerated.

Creamy Pumpkin Soup

I started out on Friday night roasting the pumpkin. It’s no more effort than cutting up the pumpkin into cubes, then lightly pour some oil over the pumpkin and then some cracked pepper and salt to taste. Chuck the roasting pan into the oven on 200 degrees Celsius for 40 minutes and you’re good to go. I took the opportunity to also roast a whole garlic bulb.

Roasted pumpkin

I will also add that I cut myself during preparing the pumpkin, but not through chopping up the whole pumpkin (using a blunt knife), but peeling the skin off. It was quit a mess and it made the entire weekend (and several days more) difficult to work with a plaster smothering my thumb.

Pureed pumpkin

I was really happy with my Kenwood stick thingee. It pureed the pumpkin nicely. Though I did have to do it in a couple of batches because 2 cups is just going to make it difficult to get all the pieces of pumpkin thoroughly pureed. But it wasn’t any effort. I did leave the pumpkin sitting and cooling down for 20 or so minutes before I began to puree it.

A bit more than 2 cups worth

I really didn’t know how much pumpkin I would need to roast in order to get 2 cups. And telling you that it took less than 1/2 a pumpkin doesn’t help because you don’t know how big/small the pumpkin was. The left over pumpkin was served a few days later, reheated, with dinner.

Ready to cook

I popped the pureed pumpkin into the fridge ready to use the next day for the soup.

The recipe isn’t difficult, but it does take quite a bit of time for it to complete cooking, a bit longer than I wanted given I started this after having dropped into our new neighbours with a “welcome to the neighbourhood” cake. Nevermind.

Creamy Pumpkin Soup by The Comfort of Cooking

Ingredients

3 cups low-sodium chicken broth

1/2 tsp. salt

2 cups pumpkin puree

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/2 tsp. chopped fresh thyme

1 clove garlic, minced

6 whole black peppercorns

1/2 tsp. freshly ground ginger

1/4 tsp. ground cinnamon

1/8 tsp. ground nutmeg

1/2 cup cream

Optional

4-5 pieces cooked bacon, chopped

Freshly grated Parmesan

Sour cream

Instructions

  • Take a large pot and add all but the cream and optional serving items.
  • Mix the ingredients to combine and then bring to pot to a boil.
  • Lower the heat and simmer for 30 minutes, uncovered.
  • Puree the soup in small batches. If you’ve got a stick blender just blend the soup in the pot. Otherwise use a food processor to puree the soup in small batches (1 cup at a time).
  • If you used a food processor, pour the soup back into the pot. Bring the soup back to a boil.
  • Once the soup begins to boil, lower the heat and simmer for another 30 minutes, uncovered.
  • Remove the pot from the heat and stir in the cream.
  • Pour the soup into serving bowls.
  • Top the soup with chopped cooked bacon, Parmesan and/or sour cream, if desired.

We (my MIL and I) had pumpkin soup for lunch on Sunday. The soup is really quite thick so I added enough milk until I reached the consistency I wanted and then heated the soup up until it was again piping hot.

Pumpkin Soup

I made a focaccia bread. I was so excited to make it, but it didn’t turn out like I wanted and I wont share the recipe because I was so disappointed. There’s nothing wrong with the bread, it’s just not a focaccia, at least not in my opinion. Still tasty though.

Leave a Reply

