On to the plate

Experimenting with flavours, colours and style of food served at our place

Parmesan Pesto and Pinenut muffins

Leave a comment

Last weekend, for Dad’s birthday afternoon tea, I wanted something quick and easy as a savoury addition.

I wasn’t overly worried about making something, I had a fall back plan, but I wanted to find something a bit different and new. A quick search online and I came across this link.

Ingredients

I think this recipe had everything I love in a savoury dish.

I didn’t have buttermilk so did the usual and added 1 tablespoon of white wine vinegar to a measuring cup and then filled it with milk to measure a cup.

I also decided to add some cherry tomatos I’d had sitting for a week.

Ready to bake

Because this was an afternoon tea I used my mini muffin tins (the above is my normal sized muffin tin). I got 24 mini muffins and 8 normal sized muffins.

My mini muffin tins were a little fuller than what I filled the larger muffin tin. I was actually worried they were rise so much and spew over the sides, but miraculously they did not.

They were a real pain to get out of the tins though. That parmesan cheese really stuck to the sides and I had to use a knife to cut around every single one of them.

Mini muffins

We had lots left, so we just kept snacking on these for dinner. I froze all the normal sized muffins, and the few left over minis. We had them for lunch today. They thaw and reheat nicely. They’ll smell wonderful, but that’s not an indication they’re warmed through properly, so I found out. I reheated with the oven at temperature on 150 degrees.

Little savoury morsels

Love those pinenuts, but they wont stay put once you bite into them. I also toasted mine before adding them to the mixture.

So my very small changes:

Toasting the pinenuts

Adding cherry tomatos

Using more cheese than is called for, but I’m always going to do that Winking smile

 

PS, the link for the recipe wasn’t working at the time I grabbed it for this post. Hopefully it’s just a glitch which will be resolved soon, because I’d like to make the recipe again.

 

Okay the recipe is still on my phone’s browser so here it is, in case the problem with the website is a bit more involved in fixing.

Pesto Pine Nut and Parmesan Muffins

Ingredients

Oil or butter for greasing

2 cups standard flour

1 tablespoon baking powder

1/8 teaspoon salt

freshly ground black pepper

3/4 cup freshly grated parmesan cheese

3/4 cup pine nuts, divided

2 large eggs

1 cup buttermilk

6 tablespoons sunflower oil or melted butter cooled

2-3 tablespoons pesto

4 tablespoons freshly grated paremsan chees

Instructions

Heat the oven to 200 degrees Celsius.

In a large bowl sift together the flour, baking powder, salt and pepper.

Using a fork mix in the first measure of parmesan cheese

Toast all the pine nuts then put 1/4 cup aside for the topping.

In a medium bowl or jug lightly whisk the eggs and add in the oil or butter and buttermilk.

Make a well in the centre of the bowl holding the dry ingredients and pour in the wet ingredients.

Very gently fold in the ingredients together. Don’t overmix or the muffins will be tough. It’s ok to have some dry ingredients showing.

Spray muffin tins. Spoon mixture to fill 3/4 full.

Top the batter with the second measure of pine nuts and parmesan cheese.

Bake for about 20 minutes.

Cool in the pan for 10 minutes before turning out.

Serve warm.

Leave a Reply

